Damballah (Homewood Trilogy)

Damballah (Homewood Trilogy) Download Damballah+%28Homewood+Trilogy%29

Damballah (Homewood Trilogy)

This collection of interrelated stories spans the history of Homewood, a Pittsburgh community founded by a runaway slave. With stunning lyricism, Wideman sings of "dead children in garbage cans, of gospel and basketball, of lost gods and dead fathers" (John Leonard). It is a celebration of people who, in the face of crisis, uphold one another--with grace, courage, and dignity.

From Library Journal
This short story collection and novel, respectively, both published in 1981, are the second and third volumes in the author's Homewood trilogy. Damballah contains a dozen stories spanning many years in a Pittsburgh community founded by a runaway slave. Hiding Place shares the same setting.
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.


"A novelist of high seriousness and dept . . . enormous care and intelligence." The New York Times

About the Author

JOHN EDGAR WIDEMAN is the author of more than twenty works of fiction and nonfiction, including the award-winning Brothers and Keepers, Philadelphia Fire, and the story collection God’s Gym. He is the recipient of two PEN/ Faulkner Awards and has been nominated for the National Book Award.

Download Damballah+%28Homewood+Trilogy%29

Related Books